Call me… maybe?

WOW! This week was super busy! I always feel like when finals are approaching there are that many more non-school activities trying to take my attention… or maybe I’m just more receptive to them.

This was a big work out week, I worked out every day and capped off my Lenten promise to run 20 miles per week with 23.5 miles this week! It’s actually amazing how changing up your workout routine (I added 4 Pure Barre classes this week; and 2 6-mile runs around the Rose Bowl) really helps to keep you motivated and interested.

I also finally gave in to Gillian’s nagging to sign up for a race and signed up for my first half marathon! I was really super inspired by my friend Morgan completing her first half marathon with the Hollywood Rock and Roll Half marathon. So January 5th I will be running 13.2 miles through Downtown LA at NIGHT! It feels kind of like a loop hole that it’s over 6 months away… I guess that means I can’t use the “I didn’t have enough time to train” excuse when I give up and start walking at mile 7. Now I just need to get my shin-splints under control.

I also feel like I went out a lot this week, even though I declared that I was going into finals hibernation mode and being a no-fun Sally.

Last Sunday I headed out in WeHo with my friend Ryan. It was his “cheat” day and he was craving some terrible looking fried burrito thing from Fiesta Cantina. I’m always down for some WeHo fun so I tagged along for the promise of a diet coke. We also hit up The Abbey which was RAGING  and Ryan introduced me to their BAKERY. Yes, the arguably most well known gay bar in all the world which caters to a culture that shuns all carbs has a full bakery that’s open until the bar closes. We split a cookie and watched half naked muscle men dance to bumping techno music. It was magical.

Sunday night rage fest in WeHo!!

Tuesday I grabbed drinks at perennial hot spot Father’s Office. Which was definitely an experience and I got to try a few new beers! Unlike Gillian I don’t take pictures of my drinks… nor do I actually remember the names of the beers. But since I was with a beer enthusiast you can trust me that they were pretty good.

Thursday I started early by drinking IN class with my friend Derek. If I haven’t explained it before, USC Law is pretty much like going through undergrad again. But instead of frats providing free booze, the school does. So Derek and I decided to make Employment Law a bit more fun by adding in a bit of liquid courage. I think we shocked our professor with our rate of participation… and giggling. I then went bowling with about a dozen of my closest friends, where I realized that I suck at bowling. But I did get to wear awesome hot pink pants and drink wine that was poured from a single serve plastic bottle.  Pretty much it was the classiest night I’ve had in a while.

My classy single-serve plastic bottle of Sutter Home

Friday I got roped into attending our weekly “Bar Review” which was an after party to the annual USC/UCLA basketball massacre. I’m ok with them beating us in basketball so long as we keep beating them in bar passage rates. USC/UCLA rented out a club in Hollywood called The Agency. The bouncers wore bow ties (awesome) but the club was empty and I was sober so Derek and I left about 30 minutes later and preceded to have a dance party in my car. Lets just say we both should be embarrassed at how well we know this little diddy: 

Saturday was way more low-key, I went to see Titanic 3D with my friends Blanca and Marjorie! It was TOTALLY WORTH IT. Blanca cried with the gay couple sitting next to her and Marjorie and I nerded out over the trailer for one of our company’s upcoming blockbusters. A large part of why it was so great was that I was 9 when Titanic came out the first time and never saw it in theaters… plus Leo is HOT and Kate is gorgeous. No one minds seeing their faces on a 3 story tall screen. It’s always great to see movies like that on the big screen, and while I HATE 3D for movies and think it’s the worst thing to happen to films since smell-o-vision, James Cameron is truly a perfectionist and used it to create depth rather than height on the screen which seriously draws the audience in.

Best part is the company logo at 0:40

Sunday (in addition to family Easter Linner) I got to catch up with my 3 best friends from childhood- Rachel, Rebecca, and Megan. Rachel, Megan and I get to hang out pretty regularly (as in getting our nails done and having lunch like once a month) but Rebecca is currently working at a hospital in Pennsylvania so catching up with her is a rare and delightful treat!! One day soon I’ll do a longer post about these three fabulous ladies, I’ll even include a few childhood pictures. However, due to a minor misunderstanding in 4th grade I don’t have any from that time with Megan’s head still in the picture.

I ended the night with the weekly tradition of watching The Amazing Race and The Good Wife with Gillian and Matty!

A few random things:

I realized that I am definitely never going to be a litigator. In a settlement exercise this week when the plaintiff requested $157,000 in damages…. I countered with $690 out of principle. My professor sighed and said, “you’re going to make this a really long night aren’t you?”

Urth Caffe smoothies and quiche make the best Saturday brunch.

Parents should be banned from sending emails titled “EMERGENCY!!” when they are out of the country. Not cool. I thought my mom had been kidnapped by the IRA and I was going to have to hire Liam Neeson to find her.

Leave a Reply

